The factory manual

Tips and Recommendations from Guru Mike Nixon

Moderator: Whiskerfish

mikenixon
Early 'Wing Guru
Early 'Wing Guru

The factory manual

Post by mikenixon »

When I was a dealer tech, there were a number of ways you could lose the respect of the other mechanics in the shop. Just *owning* a tube of silicone sealer was one. And there were several others. But one way that sticks in my mind is you never wanted to say the word "Clymer." Never. I have discovered, with the unbelievably widespread acceptance of this product, how impossible it is to communicate to most people how it was was and still is viewed in OEM shops. And how I still view it. Admitting any association with it was akin to someone finding out you had VD. And that is not an exageration. I'm not saying the factory manual is perfect. In fact, if the aftermarket books had at any time at least approached the OEM's magnificance, it wouldn't have had a chance. But it's never really been challenged. Despite its (rather dear) idiosyncrasies, the factory book is consistently excellent. And the Clymers and Chiltons and Haynes and the rest are so comparatively awful, what with their unabashed shooting-from-the-hip style. Really, they are.

As I say, the factory book is not without issues. Factory manuals often use engineering data in the place of service information (for example, fuel RON instead of PON), communicate overall electrical system current in place of charge current, and preach patently foolish and widely ridiculed resistance test matrices for voltage regulators, to name just a few shortcomings.