I struggled to find a mechanic!

A forum for stories, pics and updates of your resto's. Be it a barn find, Grampas hand me down or a bike being brought back to it's former glory.If you are restoring it, show us your stuff!

Moderators: Brant, Sagebrush, Forum Moderators

biggyfries
Chrome Member
Chrome Member

I struggled to find a mechanic!

Post by biggyfries »

Hi GW'ers, I went dormant for about 18 months while my nice '79 GW was laid up. It had become hard to start and ran on 3 cyls and the cause of the problem was unknown. I am not a beginner mechanic but own a lot of tools, but I needed help on my problem. I took it to a mechanic known to be the best GW mechanic around--he earned my respect long ago--a seasoned expert mechanic, but he's wanting to retire, he has troubles with his employer and while my bike sat in their shop (for three months) I called in to see how my job was coming, and they said they hadn't touched it, but they'd like me to just come get my bike! I went to see em to try to understand what happened, they didn't want to say anything to the customer, but I gathered the only guy who would work on an old GW (the expert) was quitting and they wanted my bike out of there to free up space. Before I loaded it up the expert gives me good advice--he said he guessed my problem was the plenum gasket so I should look there. So I look it to the local Honda dealer and they said sorry, we'd rather not take your job--its too old for our shop! I called the big Honda dealer in the bigger city and they said the same--they won't work on any old bikes! But they did refer me to a private bike repair shop in a nearby city--I took it there but couldn't find their shop. I was in the right neighbor hood, so I stopped at a small engine repair shop to get directions to the shop I was looking for and I was welcomed by a father and son team who repaired mowers, weed eaters, atv's but they also had a hot love of old Hondas, and on the bench was a GL1000 carb rack just bein