Sulfur Yellow Salvage Yard Rescue

A forum for stories, pics and updates of your resto's. Be it a barn find, Grampas hand me down or a bike being brought back to it's former glory.If you are restoring it, show us your stuff!

Moderators: Brant, Sagebrush, Forum Moderators

Dr. Dave
Billet Alum. Member
Billet Alum. Member

Post by Dr. Dave »

Hi I am a newbie restoring a 76 GL1000 that is sulfur yellow and is currently a full dresser. I won her on an Ebay auction from someone within the state. Called my motorcycle mechanic Dereck in Stewart for an inspection and got the ok to start the project of bringing it back to life. He is loaning me space, a lift, tools and help.

I will include the initial pictures when I figure out how to add them.

Well, my mechanic friend thought he would see if it would run since we picked it up without a battery and found out you do not kickstart a Goldwing with aftermarket heel toe shifter installed. He got it running added some water and found out there was a headgasket problem. Found out the radio works better than the shop radio.

He ordered a topend gasket kit and I started with the wrenching.busting knuckles on frozen bolts, then there was the cleaning and polishing. Looks like the last mechanic had not heard of anti-sieze. Started with the heads and did a valve job. My mechanic friend normally works on toys from the Hundreds of Dollar store, was impressed with the lack of wear on the engine with the bike having 83K miles on it. We still do not know how the last owner ever got the bike to run, we have never seen points worned into cups. [Pictures to follow]. Found removing the exhaust system and center standing to be an interesting adventure.