Scooped up an 85 aspencade for $150 DELIVERED, figured I'd come here to document the progress and ask dumb questions.

Feel free to introduce yourself, tell us about your bike or just say hello. Members, say Hello and Welcome to our new members.

Moderators: Neil, redwood, rcmatt007, Forum Moderators

extremeodd
Tin Member
Tin Member

Scooped up an 85 aspencade for $150 DELIVERED, figured I'd come here to document the progress and ask dumb questions.

Post by extremeodd »

I'm fairly new to owning motorcycles but I've been wrenching for 15+ years. Last month scooped up an 81 virago for $75 and got it running/driving for just $130-150 which inspired me to keep a keen eye out for good bike deals.
As luck would have it a 85 Honda Goldwing GL1200 Aspencade popped up on craigslist for $150 + delivery fees. Talked to him and
The transmission, brakes and electrical are all good. I was actually riding this bike early this year. One of the timing belt covers worked lose and the belt ate the cover gasket, jumping a few teeth in the process. I got it readjusted, but it still wouldn't start so I suspect bent valves. Other issues are it needs new tires. They both slowly go flat. Front fork seals are shot. It has an aftermarket alternator kit on it so the original stator is probably bad. The left mirror is taped/glued in place. Blue was not the original color. It was rather amatureishly done and looks better at a distance. Gas in the tank has been there since about mid summer. Also, the carbs are in desperate need of a good time up and sync.
Offered him $150 delivered since I live just a few miles away and after a day of "someone else is coming" I got the message saying "you can have it for the price you offered if you're still interested" so I lept on it.

It'll be getting brought by tomorrow morning at 8am. Once I tear into it some I'll post a thread documenting my progress. I'm quite excited to say the least!

Here is a pic from the ad.
00Y0Y_fYdyk93fDRi_1200x900.jpg