Ignition Problems

Discuss anything about other motorcycles, accessories, riding gear and other motorcycle related topics.

Moderators: Whiskerfish, ascot, Forum Moderators

FatsMccarthy
Rusty Probie
Rusty Probie

Ignition Problems

Post by FatsMccarthy »

This is my first time posting here so I beg your pardon if I am doing it incorrectly. I recently bought a 1979 Yamaha xs750. I don’t know when the last time it was ran. Or where the factory air box is. But it wouldn’t start, so I began by squirting it with some starter fluid and it fired up on two occasions for a short period of time but wouldn’t stay running. Next I checked the spark plugs they were black but still sparked. But I ended up replacing them just to be punctual. They are gapped properly and spark. But the bike will not start it just turns and turns. Nextly I noticed the fuel was bad so I drained the old fuel added knew, and cleaned the carbs that were very dirty and green. After reassembling I tried to fire the bike up again. But it still just turned and did not start. Even after hitting it again with starter fluid it would not start. Occasionally it will let out a backfire but that is it. Currently I have the air pods taped 3/4 of the way shut, there is no muffler, and the battery has a strong charge and is less than a year old. Should I be worried about compression or electrical?
Track T 2411
Honored Life Member
Honored Life Member
My Album: http://www.ngwclub.com/gallery/v/wingmans/Track+T+2411/

Re: Ignition Problems

Post by Track T 2411 »

I'll take a stab at this, having owned a '79 for some time. Mine has always been a bear to start, especially after sitting for long periods. My recommendation would be to start with one 'system' (such as the electrical system, fuel system, etc) at a time and work your way through. There is likely going to be no 'easy' fix.