Valkyrie Input

Discuss anything about other motorcycles, accessories, riding gear and other motorcycle related topics.

Moderators: Whiskerfish, ascot, Forum Moderators

propav8r
Billet Alum. Member
Billet Alum. Member

Valkyrie Input

Post by propav8r »

Has anybody here owned/ridden one of the 1500 Valkyries? I love my '78 GL1000, but it's not really well suited to long trips. It could be, with a different seat and some luggage, but then it wouldn't be the naked wing I wanted to build.

I think a Valkyrie is probably going to be my next bike...good mix of mostly naked styling, with some provision for basic bags, plus that boxer motor I like.

Keep in mind, I'm relatively new to riding. I've spent some time on Dad's Shadow 750, but it just feels gutless and vibey. His Vulcan 2100 is smoother and has great grunt, but I'm still not a fan of the v-twin thing.

Maybe step one is finding a Valkyrie I could take for a ride, but the bike seems like it'll check all my boxes. Does anyone here own one or have experience with them? Anything to watch out for?
5speed
Honored Life Member
Honored Life Member

Re: Valkyrie Input

Post by 5speed »

zero experience with one but a friend up mine upgraded to one from his goldwing a few years ago and still has it. He is a mechanic and extremely fussy when it comes to all things mechanical.
to bad you weren't closer. the shop I bought my wifes shadow from has one for sale.
1982 1100 standard. (sold)
1986 Yamaha FJ1200
2000 Yamaha Roadstar
1976 GoldWing. running but not on the road
1978 Goldwing. future cafe project.
2019 Can-Am ryker (boss's new ride)

2002 Shadow American Classic(sold)
1983 Shadow 500. (sold)
ericheath
Honored Life Member
Honored Life Member

Post by ericheath »

I rode an Interstate once. Intoxicating.
Whatever I suggest here should be given ample time for a moderator to delicately correct. I apologize in advance.