testing regulator on 76 gl1000

Discuss everything about Honda GoldWing. Feel free to ask any question related to GoldWing.

Moderators: CYBORG, Oldewing, robin1731, Forum Moderators

luigipasto
Zinc Member
Zinc Member

testing regulator on 76 gl1000

Post by luigipasto »

I'd like to test the regulator on my bike. The shop manual states that the regulator should divert current to ground through the green wire (as measured by an ammeter) when the battery voltage reaches between 14 and 15. I'm not sure how much current though. The ammeter suggested is for measuring 0-5 amps. Nowhere does it say how many amps? I'm not an expert and may be missing something very simple. Any ideas/lessons welcome...
1975 GL1000, on the road but patiently awaiting restoration
1976 GL1000, in the middle of a frame-off restoration.
cfairweather
Silver Member
Silver Member

Re: testing regulator on 76 gl1000

Post by cfairweather »

luigipasto
Zinc Member
Zinc Member

Post by luigipasto »

Thanks Cedric! This was very helpful however it's still not clear to a non-expert like me. I guess it's more important that the voltage not exceed about 15 than knowing the exact current to expect from the regulator. If the voltage climbs above 15 then the regulator is not working.....
cfairweather
Silver Member
Silver Member

Post by cfairweather »

There are others that may provide more information but I would just do the basic tests and not worry about the current. As long as the devices pass the tests that are listed in that document, you will be fine. I have found the electronic devices pretty reliable on the GL1000 except for the Reserve Lighting Unit and the 7 volt regulator. I typically remove the RLU per Chilton's manual and I replace the 7 volt regulator with a homemade unit. I think removing the RLU must take a big load off the entire electrical system. If you need a regulator, I will give you one as I have several. Just pay the shipping.
pidjones
SUPER BIKER!!!!
SUPER BIKER!!!!