Best Honda Goldwing year for Cafe Build

Discuss everything about Honda GoldWing. Feel free to ask any question related to GoldWing.

Moderators: CYBORG, Oldewing, robin1731, Forum Moderators

Funkdoctor
Zinc Member
Zinc Member

Best Honda Goldwing year for Cafe Build

Post by Funkdoctor »

Hello everybody,

I am a newbie who is in the market for a Goldwing Cafe Racer Build. I know that after 81’ from my reading that they were longer moving forward. If anyone could give me direction before I pick up the wrong bike for the build I would most definitely appreciate it.
Track T 2411
Honored Life Member
Honored Life Member
My Album: http://www.ngwclub.com/gallery/v/wingmans/Track+T+2411/

Re: Best Honda Goldwing year for Cafe Build

Post by Track T 2411 »

I'm not sure what you mean by 'moving forward,' but there is very little difference from '80 to '83, with the exception of the Aspencade, as far as ease of customizing. Here's my quick rundown:
75-77, 1000cc, best advertised performance, spoked wheels, slightly undersized forks, slightly inadequate brakes.
78-79, 1000cc, slightly de-tuned engine, Comstar wheels, same issues with forks and brakes.
80-81, 1100cc, available as a Standard or Interstate. Better gearing for highway (touring) heavier forks, and longer wheelbase. Reverse Comstar wheels.
82, 1100cc, Standard, Interstate, or Aspencade. Much the same as the 80-81's, but one inch smaller diameter and wider reverse Comstar (more tire choices nowadays). Improved braking system as well. The Aspencade had added features.
83, 1100cc, very similar to the 82 with the addition of ' linked' brakes (the foot pedal operates the rear caliper and one front caliper, the hand lever, the other front. Some people don't like 'em, but it can be changed.), as well as anti - dive front forks. Wheel size is the same as 82, but are cast aluminum. The Aspencade also went to a digital dash, which is a little unsightly, IMhO, and a little more difficult to change.