What to look for and what not to look for when buying?

Discuss everything about Honda GoldWing. Feel free to ask any question related to GoldWing.

Moderators: CYBORG, Oldewing, robin1731, Forum Moderators

zomnbvc
Tin Member
Tin Member

What to look for and what not to look for when buying?

Post by zomnbvc »

I am new to the NGWClub community and want to purchase a gold wing in the very near future, I really like either the 78 or 79 and was wondering if any of you out there have any tips or tricks on what to look for when buying a used gold wing as well as what to avoid. I was also searching for some sort of guide to what to replace/clean/polish immediately after one purchases a gold wing but found no topic as such. I would really appreciate if any of you have any tips tricks or how to's on those to subjects. Thanks in advance!
CYBORG

Re: What to look for and what not to look for when buying?

Post by CYBORG »

what you buy depends on what you want to do with the bike. a long distance cruiser? custom? restore? rat bike? cafe'? if you want a CHEAP buy, and plan on doing a lot of work yourself, just try for a good engine.
1978 custom GL1000
1977 custom with 1200 engine
1985 gl1200
Recycled Roadkill
Honored Life Member
Honored Life Member

Post by Recycled Roadkill »

Ran when parked. Price decreases sharply if it doen't run when you're looking at it! Carbs are most suspect if it's been sitting due to very small passages getting clogged.
Bob Gill
Four wheels move the body but two wheels move the soul.
It's never too late to have a happy childhood!
I've considered joining Insomniacs Anonymous, but I decided I'd sleep on it.

'96 Honda GL 1500A Rolling Couch (Not Naked)
'78 Honda GL 1000 Gentle Glide
'77 Honda GL 1000 Black Mamba (Sold) :(
roncar
Vice President
Vice President
My Album: http://www.ngwclub.com/gallery3/index.p ... s/roncarGL

Post by roncar »

Here's a good place to start reading. http://www.randakksblog.com/category/ho ... rs-gl1000/