minimum ign. voltage Dynatech

Discuss everything about Honda GoldWing. Feel free to ask any question related to GoldWing.

Moderators: CYBORG, Oldewing, robin1731, Forum Moderators

Post Reply
Don R
Silver Member
Silver Member
Posts: 625
Joined: Thu Feb 26, 2015 2:53 am
Location: West Central Illinois

minimum ign. voltage Dynatech

#1

Post by Don R »

My 78 will occasionally cut out when first started and running after a lot of short rides and starts. I read recently a dynatech ign. may be sensitive to low voltage. Today warmed up at idle with the fan running and the digital meter in the windjammer it was reading just over 11 volts. At 3K rpm it will rise to nearly 14V during a ride, then slowly drop back which may be normal . Still has the dyno plug which looks good, has been cleaned, polished and silicone greased. Recent agm battery, maintained off season.
Anyway after optimizing the connections, should I add a relay to secure max volts to the coils? It has no ballast resistor, two gl1500 3 ohm coils, new wires and caps and a recent Dynatech ign .
It has mostly new everything, from the gas cap to the intake o rings, and the plugs to the ign switch. It still does the occasional cut out, like the switch was bumped off.
I've thought of running a temporary hot wire from the battery to the ign. just as a test.
78 GL 1000, 70 CB750 sandcast, 70 CB836 hot rod, 1124cc 750 dragbike resto project.
You don't need a weatherman to know which way the wind blows.
User avatar
Fred Camper
Honored Life Member
Honored Life Member
Posts: 5939
Joined: Wed Aug 12, 2009 9:38 pm
My Album: http://www.ngwclub.com/gallery/v/wingmans/Jeff+Bozeman/
Location: Metro Detroit

Re: minimum ign. voltage Dynatech

#2

Post by Fred Camper »

Mine would miss with a blinker on (minor voltage drop) until I put the ignition on a relay. Very solid now. Well worth the effort.
Proud member of the NGW Cartel (Rochester MI)
1977 GL1000 BADDOG (April 2012 BOTM)
1976 LTD - '993 LTD...and so it begins'

You should remember that it's peace of mind you're after and not just fixing the machine. R.Pirsig
User avatar
ericheath
Honored Life Member
Honored Life Member
Posts: 9213
Joined: Wed Jul 29, 2009 11:20 am

Re: minimum ign. voltage Dynatech

#3

Post by ericheath »

As long as it’s fused, you would be safe. Lots have added the relay for the same reason.

I believe Dana’s suggestion was to wire direct to the battery back when they had “black box” (Dyna 111 models) issues. If it fixed it: great. If not: send it in.
Whatever I suggest here should be given ample time for a moderator to delicately correct. I apologize in advance.
77 WING, 1200 engine with 77 heads, cams, gl1100 foot pegs, Magna V65 front end, 764A carbs, [-gone Suzuki M109 monoshock--, replaced with gl1100 shocks] gl 1200 swing arm, gl1500 final drive, wheel and rear brakes Valkyrie seat, Meanstreak tank, Sportster pipes, Power Arc ignition off crank.
77 Wing. black
83 Wing, in pieces
"Continuing education is important even if the subject matter is fairly useless (as in this case)."---Greg Foresi
User avatar
Whiskerfish
President
President
Posts: 33974
Joined: Thu Feb 16, 2006 9:34 pm
My Album: http://www.ngwclub.com/gallery/v/wingmans/whiskerfish/
Location: Norfolk Va

Re: minimum ign. voltage Dynatech

#4

Post by Whiskerfish »

You can certainly run a temporary as a quick means of troubleshooting. Also run a temporary Ground. Or if you have a decent multi-meter you can read the voltage drop from the neg batt terminal to the engine block and see if it is enough to fuss over.
"Agreement is not a requirement for Respect" CDR Michael Smith USN (Ret) 2017
"The book is wrong, this whole Conclusion is Fallacious" River Tam
2008 GL1800 IIIA "TH3DOG"
1975/6/7/8/9 Arthur Fulmer Dressed Road bike
1975 Naked Noisy and Nasty in town bike
and a whole garage full of possibilities!!

Psst. oh and by the way CHANGE YOUR BELTS!!!!
Don R
Silver Member
Silver Member
Posts: 625
Joined: Thu Feb 26, 2015 2:53 am
Location: West Central Illinois

Re: minimum ign. voltage Dynatech

#5

Post by Don R »

I found a mounting base for the bosch relay at Advance auto, they didn't know they had them until they looked, new item, I bought all four since I have a car to wire too.
78 GL 1000, 70 CB750 sandcast, 70 CB836 hot rod, 1124cc 750 dragbike resto project.
You don't need a weatherman to know which way the wind blows.
low-side
Titanium Member
Titanium Member
Posts: 455
Joined: Fri Aug 04, 2017 5:00 pm
Location: Bolivar, Ohio

Re: minimum ign. voltage Dynatech

#6

Post by low-side »

FWIW, I power mine from the accessory port and switch it with the kill switch.
User avatar
Sidecar Bob
Honored Life Member
Honored Life Member
Posts: 5591
Joined: Sun Jun 11, 2006 10:14 pm
Location: Kawartha Lakes, Ontario

Re: minimum ign. voltage Dynatech

#7

Post by Sidecar Bob »

1) Try jiggling the kill switch while it is running to make sure that isn't causing the problem. It should need to be turned quite a bit before it shuts the ignition off so if it is over-sensitive clean the kill switch contacts. Try spraying contact cleaner into the switch housing (key OFF) through the holes in the bottom of the housing and working the switch a bunch of times but you may need to open the housing to get at it properly.

2) If your Dyna is wired per the instructions, try changing where it gets power to the wire that powers the coils before you add a relay. I don't know who thought of powering the electronic ignition from the turn signal circuit but they should be given a stern talking to :orange :orange :orange
It makes far more sense to power it from the ignition circuit...
Mr. Honda ('83 GL1100/Dnepr) summer New Engine Thread
The Famous Eccles ('84 CX650EI/VeloUral) winter Never Ending Build (CX500forum)
Click: Colour schematics for all GL1000 & GL1100 and GL1200 standard models plus instructions on how to download the full size version
"A guy with two sidecars can't be all bad." - Cookie
Another guy with two sidecars..... Hmmmm... must be something to that....
User avatar
1983lux
Chrome Member
Chrome Member
Posts: 147
Joined: Sun May 06, 2012 6:30 pm
Location: Prince Edward Island, Canada

Re: minimum ign. voltage Dynatech

#8

Post by 1983lux »

I have my dyna ignition running off of the turn signal wire, which only gets 11 or 11.5 volts and get a miss after i rev the engine and it returns to idle. If I use a relay to run my dyna, what amp rated fuse should I be installing in the line?
1975 Honda GL1000 - Naked
Motor from 1979 Model
1975 Cams and Carbs
Dyna S Ignition
User avatar
Sidecar Bob
Honored Life Member
Honored Life Member
Posts: 5591
Joined: Sun Jun 11, 2006 10:14 pm
Location: Kawartha Lakes, Ontario

Re: minimum ign. voltage Dynatech

#9

Post by Sidecar Bob »

Probably the same value as the turn signal is on.

For the record, mine is connected to the wire that powers the coils and I don't have that problem...
Mr. Honda ('83 GL1100/Dnepr) summer New Engine Thread
The Famous Eccles ('84 CX650EI/VeloUral) winter Never Ending Build (CX500forum)
Click: Colour schematics for all GL1000 & GL1100 and GL1200 standard models plus instructions on how to download the full size version
"A guy with two sidecars can't be all bad." - Cookie
Another guy with two sidecars..... Hmmmm... must be something to that....
User avatar
pidjones
Platinum Member
Platinum Member
Posts: 1953
Joined: Wed May 22, 2013 4:06 pm
Location: East TN

Re: minimum ign. voltage Dynatech

#10

Post by pidjones »

1983lux wrote: Thu Sep 03, 2020 6:20 pm I have my dyna ignition running off of the turn signal wire, which only gets 11 or 11.5 volts and get a miss after i rev the engine and it returns to idle. If I use a relay to run my dyna, what amp rated fuse should I be installing in the line?
5 Amps should be plenty. It doesn't supply ignition power, it just runs the Dyna electronics.
"Love 'em all.... let God sort 'em out!"
1978 GL1000 - winter project for 2020 challenge
2006 GL1800 - the Black Pearl
1979 GL1000 project - to be restored
1978 GL1000 with '75 engine - the Hunley
Ex '79 CB750F rat bike - the Rocket - SOLD!
Ex '86 SEi
Ex '77 GL1000
Ex '75 RD400
Ex '72 Penton 125 set up for flat track
Ex '73 RD250
Ex '68 TR6C - chopped
Don R
Silver Member
Silver Member
Posts: 625
Joined: Thu Feb 26, 2015 2:53 am
Location: West Central Illinois

Re: minimum ign. voltage Dynatech

#11

Post by Don R »

Mine (Dyna) is also running on the accessory plug at this time.
78 GL 1000, 70 CB750 sandcast, 70 CB836 hot rod, 1124cc 750 dragbike resto project.
You don't need a weatherman to know which way the wind blows.
User avatar
pidjones
Platinum Member
Platinum Member
Posts: 1953
Joined: Wed May 22, 2013 4:06 pm
Location: East TN

Re: minimum ign. voltage Dynatech

#12

Post by pidjones »

Don R wrote: Sat Sep 05, 2020 11:44 am Mine (Dyna) is also running on the accessory plug at this time.
My Hunley is also, but I've probably not ridden it over 100 miles this summer.
"Love 'em all.... let God sort 'em out!"
1978 GL1000 - winter project for 2020 challenge
2006 GL1800 - the Black Pearl
1979 GL1000 project - to be restored
1978 GL1000 with '75 engine - the Hunley
Ex '79 CB750F rat bike - the Rocket - SOLD!
Ex '86 SEi
Ex '77 GL1000
Ex '75 RD400
Ex '72 Penton 125 set up for flat track
Ex '73 RD250
Ex '68 TR6C - chopped
User avatar
Whiskerfish
President
President
Posts: 33974
Joined: Thu Feb 16, 2006 9:34 pm
My Album: http://www.ngwclub.com/gallery/v/wingmans/whiskerfish/
Location: Norfolk Va

Re: minimum ign. voltage Dynatech

#13

Post by Whiskerfish »

I used the accessory terminal to operate a relay with clean power from the battery. It runs the dyna and the fuel pump.
"Agreement is not a requirement for Respect" CDR Michael Smith USN (Ret) 2017
"The book is wrong, this whole Conclusion is Fallacious" River Tam
2008 GL1800 IIIA "TH3DOG"
1975/6/7/8/9 Arthur Fulmer Dressed Road bike
1975 Naked Noisy and Nasty in town bike
and a whole garage full of possibilities!!

Psst. oh and by the way CHANGE YOUR BELTS!!!!
User avatar
1983lux
Chrome Member
Chrome Member
Posts: 147
Joined: Sun May 06, 2012 6:30 pm
Location: Prince Edward Island, Canada

Re: minimum ign. voltage Dynatech

#14

Post by 1983lux »

This was great advice. Hooked my Dyna and fuel pump to a relay. Was getting 11.0-11.5 volts before off some white wire with green stripe with a dual socket connector at the end.. With the full 12 volts off the relay it runs, starts and sounds really different. Huge change for the better. I've had the bike randomly shut off a few times while decelerating and I wonder if this was why. Never would've thought of this!
1975 Honda GL1000 - Naked
Motor from 1979 Model
1975 Cams and Carbs
Dyna S Ignition
Don R
Silver Member
Silver Member
Posts: 625
Joined: Thu Feb 26, 2015 2:53 am
Location: West Central Illinois

Re: minimum ign. voltage Dynatech

#15

Post by Don R »

That's good to hear it helps. I still haven't done it, I'm building a car and trying to put together a pair of cb750 K0 projects to re-sell for car money. Otherwise known as, lots of lame excuses.
78 GL 1000, 70 CB750 sandcast, 70 CB836 hot rod, 1124cc 750 dragbike resto project.
You don't need a weatherman to know which way the wind blows.
Post Reply

Return to “GoldWing Tech Discussions”