1976 GL1000, Red, resto-mod, Keller TX

A forum for stories, pics and updates of your resto's. Be it a barn find, Grampas hand me down or a bike being brought back to it's former glory.If you are restoring it, show us your stuff!

Moderators: Brant, Sagebrush, Forum Moderators

acestrom
Brass Member
Brass Member

1976 GL1000, Red, resto-mod, Keller TX

Post by acestrom »

After a few weeks of saving for parts and diving deep into these NGW forums, I've got a good start on a long awaited project. At the end of 2016, I had finally done it!! The timing, condition, and deal was just right, and I finally secured what I felt was the sweet spot for remaining life (condition) vs. price - I landed a red '76 GL1000 with 32k miles. I had been dreaming of a 75-77 Wing for many years and there was always something more pressing or critical to fund. Well, I feel blessed, and I'm ready to go!! So, now what??...

Here's the list of TO DO projects on her:
1. Carb rebuild (I purchased the Randakk master kit and DVD)
2. Clean and restore the fuel tank (about to try de-rusting with Sodium Carbonate)
3. Brakes (I must replace the rubber hoses and brake pads)
4. PO changed the handlebars and grips. Left (directional and horn) controls need finishing. Low bars changes a bunch of cable and hose routing.
5. Tach cable needs to be lubbed or replaced.
6. Seat needs re-skinned or replaced (toying with the idea of a more modern or solo seat) SUGGESTIONS WELCOMED
7. Lots of crome and aluminum needs to be re-touched up and polished. (Thinking about polishing the final drive housing too)
8. PO or an owner at some point had some battery issues: rear swing arm, battery tray and frame on left side need black paint touch up.
9. Something is up with the horn, and directionals not working. Not fun - gotta trace some things but figured I would at least replace the flasher relay first.