New member and proud new owner of GL1000 Executive #34

Feel free to introduce yourself, tell us about your bike or just say hello. Members, say Hello and Welcome to our new members.

Moderators: Neil, redwood, rcmatt007, Forum Moderators

silverfox
Tin Member
Tin Member

New member and proud new owner of GL1000 Executive #34

Post by silverfox »

Hi all,
newbie here fom the UK, many of you may recognise me from the Steve Saunders site.
I normally ride a GL1800 but on Sunday last bought number 34 of 52 of the GL1000's known as "Executives"
Mine is in fairly good shape but sadly not 100% complete. I am hoping to aquire the necessary bits to bring her back to complete as time goes on.
She has stood for some while, and so the carbs are somewhat gunmmed up and the charging system is a bit suspect. She is currently in a mate's workshop being worked on by him and me, and I look forward to her being truely roadworthy. Been many a year since I rode naked!!! :shock:
Anyway, I look forward to watching and learning from you all on here. Good to see some faces I know around the place. :-D

Pete
Pete
CYBORG

Post by CYBORG »

welcome. and tell me more about what an executive model is. i had not heard that before.
1978 custom GL1000
1977 custom with 1200 engine
1985 gl1200
silverfox
Tin Member
Tin Member

Post by silverfox »

Hi Cyborg, thanks for the welcome. :)
Issued only in the UK in 1977 there were 52 of them. Number one was given as first prize in a competition in MCN magazine. The ticket cost the guy 75p and he lived in Bristol UK.
With the exitement that the competion generated, another 51 bikes were sent to Rickman for re styling, ( like the first one was) and they were all painted black with gold pin striping. The saddle was re covered in brown leatherette material and a Rickman MarkV fairing was added, ( making it the only GL1000 sold out from Honda dealerships with a fairing). Additionally they had a rack added and crash bars. They sold for £2100.00 +VAT.